Start, Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, 2018

Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez – circuit information

The Mexican Grand Prix first appeared on the Formula 1 calendar in 1963, thanks in part to the rising prominence of the Rodriguez brothers. The Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, which holds the race today, is now named after them.

However the younger of the two, Ricardo, died in a non-championship race on Mexico City’s track in 1962. When brother Pedro also perished in Germany nine years later the Magdalena Mixhuaca circuit was renamed after the pair.

By then the race had been dropped from the calendar following dreadful crowd control problems at the circuit in 1970. It returned in 1986, despite a recent earthquake having killed more than 10,000 people, on a slightly revised course.

The daunting Peraltada – the banked, 180-degree corner before the pits straight – remained, but in 1992 the banking was reduced to ease the corner. That was the last F1 race held at the track for 23 years.

F1 returned in 2015 to a heavily revamped circuit which on which every corner had been modified including the Peraltada, which was replaced with a slow series of bends running through the Foro Sol stadium.

Lap data
Lap length 4.304km (2.674 miles)
Race laps 71
Race distance 305.354km (189.738 miles)
Pole position Left-hand side of the track
Lap record* 1’20.521 (Nico Rosberg, 2015)
Fastest lap 1’14.759 (Daniel Ricciardo, 2018, qualifying three)
Maximum speed 349kph (216.858 mph)
Distance from grid to turn one 890m
Car performance
Full throttle 45%
Longest flat-out section 1200m
Gear changes per lap 52
Fuel use per lap 1.41kg
Time penalty per lap of fuel 0.054s
Pit lane time loss 16s
Tyres: Drivers’ tyre selections

*Fastest lap set during a Grand Prix

Data sources: FIA, Williams, Mercedes

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Track map

Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez track map
Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez track map

Aerial map


Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free