Carlos Sainz Jnr will have a grid penalty for the third time this season in the penultimate round.
Sainz took his first grid drop for a power unit infringement at the French Grand Prix and the second in the Italian Grand Prix. Team mate Charles Leclerc has also had three separate penalties for the same violation.
Under F1’s rules, Sainz’s penalty will not affect the starting order for Saturday’s sprint race: He will be moved back five place on the grid for Sunday’s grand prix.
Ferrari has also fitted the eighth different exhaust to Sainz’s car this weekend. Both Ferrari-powered Alfa Romeo drivers have the same new part, which brings all of them up to their maximum allocation for the season.
Don't miss anything new from RaceFans
Follow RaceFans on social media:
Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and
2022 Brazilian Grand Prix
- Surprise Brazil pole showed Magnussen rebounded from mid-season “struggle”
- Verstappen attacks “disgusting” reaction to Brazil team orders row
- Did Hamilton’s 10th tangle with Verstappen show he’s being “more aggressive” now?
- Ferrari examining process which led to Leclerc tyre choice “mistake”
- Whatever triggered it, Verstappen’s defiance of his own team makes little sense